Maryland Wear & Carry 8-hour Refresher
Time & Location
About the Event
Depending on how quickly you applied for your Maryland Wear & Carry after taking the initial 16-hour training class, you are probably coming up for renewal in the not too distant future. The State of Maryland says that the 8-hour refresher class must be taken within 2-years of renewal, so if your expiration date is between now and Jan 12, 2022, you can take the class NOW. They also recommend submitting your application at least 90 business days before expiration date. I can tell you from experience, if you don’t give them enough time and your approval comes after your expiration date (even though you submitted before expiration), they will give you a 2-year permit instead of the 3-year renewal. (Lesson learned the hard way…) BUT, as long as you submit your application 2-weeks before your expiration date, you can still carry your handgun on an expired permit.
From the Maryland State Police:
When Should I Renew?
The initial Handgun Permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following two (2) years after the date the permit is issued. Permits that have been modified or are a duplicate expire on the date provided on the initial permit.
A Handgun Permit may be renewed for successive periods of three (3) years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal fee as established in the subtitle.
The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Division does not send out renewal reminders. The expiration date is on the face of the permit.
Renewals no longer require fingerprints, but you do have to complete the full application. Here are the steps:
- Complete 8-hour refresher class
- Complete the online application - same as initial, except you check the renewal box
- Submit application with $50 renewal fee, proof of training and 2 passport photos
- Passport photos provided by SAFE Firearms Training, LLC as part of class cost.
Here is what the State Police recommend for training:
Wear and Carry Permit Training - With the passage of the 2013 Firearms Safety Act, effective October 1, 2013, the training requirements for all Maryland Wear and Carry permit holders has changed. Please ensure that before you submit either an original application or renew your Wear and Carry permit that you first successfully complete the required training.
What is Wear and Carry Permit Training?
Approved Wear and Carry Permit training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors who have established an account through the Maryland State Police MyLicense/E-Gov site. Training is valid until the permit expiration. However, you must receive subsequent training within 2 years of submitting your renewal application.
Wear and Carry Permit training is 16 hours of instruction for an original application and 8 hours of instruction for a renewal application. The approved training is offered by a Qualified Handgun Instructor and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.
Designated security personnel (security guards, private detectives, special police, and armored car drivers/guards) must shoot a practical police course of at least 50 rounds, from no further than 25 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.
All other applicants must shoot a course of at least 25 rounds, from no further than 15 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.
Classroom is a heated, indoor facility. Live fire will be done outside, rain or shine. The range firing line is a covered, concrete pavilion.
Students must provide their own firearm, holster, ear & eye protection. Ammunition is available for sale with advance notice. Students may bring their own - no personal reloads. Targets will be provided by SAFE Firearms Training, LLC. Please email instructor at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions about required equipment.
Please dress appropriately to be outside for a few hours.