Sun, Mar 28 | Seitzland Rifle Club

Handgun 201 - 8-hr Maryland Wear & Carry Renewal Class - Mar 28

Sunday, March 28th - 9 AM to 5 PM - Bagels & coffee will be served. Use coupon code "Concealed10" for 10% OFF!!
Class Maximum Reached
Handgun 201 - 8-hr Maryland Wear & Carry Renewal Class - Mar 28

Time & Location

Mar 28, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Seitzland Rifle Club, 3938 Bowser Rd, New Freedom, PA 17349, USA

About the Event

Class Description

This 1-day course satisfies Maryland's Wear & Carry 8-hour training requirement for renewal of the Maryland Wear & Carry Permit. Paperwork for the Utah non-resident concealed handgun license is included with tuition. This class provides students with information pertaining to situational awareness, conflict avoidance, and why seconds matter. You will have the opportunity to discuss a variety of firearms & other options to ensure you have the best tools for your self-defense plan. You will learn how to master the correct building blocks and shooting fundamentals in order to turn correct and consistent practice into muscle memory. We will explain Maryland & Pennsylvania firearm, transportation, and use of force laws. You are provided with a framework of information so that you are better prepared to face a defensive situation mentally, legally, and financially. Students will learn how to properly perform dry fire drills, utilize the MantisX, low light techniques, and shooting from behind cover. The course will conclude with a final proficiency test developed by the Maryland State Police. Each student will demonstrate safe gun handling and proficiency with a minimum passing score of 70%.

The State of Maryland says that the 8-hour refresher class must be taken within 2 years of renewal. They also recommend submitting your application at least 90 business days before expiration date.

From the Maryland State Police - When Should I Renew?

The initial Handgun Permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following two (2) years after the date the permit is issued. Permits that have been modified or are a duplicate expire on the date provided on the initial permit. A Handgun Permit may be renewed for successive periods of three (3) years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal fee as established in the subtitle. The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Division does not send out renewal reminders. The expiration date is on the face of the permit.

Renewals no longer require fingerprints, but you do have to complete the full application.  Here are the steps:

1. Complete 8-hour renewal class

2. Complete the online application - same as initial, except you check the renewal box

3. Submit application with $50 renewal fee, proof of training and 2 passport photos - provided by SAFE Firearms Training, LLC as part of class cost.

The class material for Handgun 201 - 8-hr Maryland Wear & Carry Renewal Class is derived from the USCCA's "Concealed Carry & Home Defense Fundamentals" book. A Firearm Safety Training Certificate will be issued to each student at the successful completion of class. Some states will accept this as their requirement for training to apply for a concealed handgun permit. The application for a Utah non-resident concealed handgun license will be completed & stamped.  Paper fingerprints and a 2"x2" photo for use with the Utah application will be provided. If you have questions, please speak with the instructor prior to registering. The intent of this class is to teach concealed carry & home defense. Completion of all training does not guarantee approval for the MD Wear and Carry Permit. All applicants will be interviewed by Maryland State Police and the decision will be made by them. No refunds will be offered.

All students will be required to sign a waiver & hold harmless agreement before class releasing Donald K. Miller II, SAFE Firearms Training, LLC and Seitzland Rifle Club of any responsibility after the class.  SAFE Firearms Training, LLC does carry liability insurance for any issues that arise during the class. Surfaces will be cleaned prior to class, but students do attend at their own risk.

Training is valid for 2 years and must be completed prior to submitting an application for a Handgun Qualification License and/or Maryland Wear & Carry Permit. Utah requires that the application be submitted within 1-year of training.

NOT INCLUDED: required Maryland State license fee ($50.00); Utah license fee ($63.25) if you choose to apply

Students must provide their own firearm, holster, ear & eye protection.  Ammunition is available for sale with advance notice. Students may bring their own - no personal reloads.  Targets will be provided by SAFE Firearms Training, LLC.  Please email instructor with any questions about required equipment.

Cancellation Policy

If you cannot attend the registered class, a credit will be offered for a future class, good for 1-year from original class date.

SAFE Firearms Training, LLC reserves the right to reschedule the class if there is not a minimum of 4 students. Registered students will have the option of moving their registration to a future class or receiving a full refund.

Payment Policy

Class tuition includes credit card & guest pass fees, but does incur 6% Maryland tax.  Any items purchased in class will incur a 3% credit card fee and 6% Maryland tax. Items in class may be purchased with cash, check or Venmo to avoid the 3% credit card fee.

Tickets
Price
Quantity
Total
  • Handgun 201 - 8-hr Renewal
    $229
    +$13.74 MD Tax
    $229
    +$13.74 MD Tax
    0
    $0
Total$0

Share This Event